Pregnancy

Maternity bra dramas

So I’m a bigger girl. Size 18/20 and a DD/E cup. This has made shopping for maternity clothes here in NZ, pretty much, a waste of time. Most shops I went to either had no maternity range or a small row/rack with limited and quite frankly ugly choices. Maternity bra shopping has gone no better.

Today my mother and me set out in search of maternity bras. I hadn’t had much luck previously but I live in a small town so it wasn’t surprising. Bra shopping itself has always been a struggle because back when I was younger it was quite hard to find nice looking bras in bigger sizes. Nowadays it isn’t as bad when it comes to normal bras but apparently it’s bloody impossible when it comes to maternity! 

First we went to Farmers. Out of their entire lingerie range there were two racks hidden way at the back of the section and the largest size we could find was a 16DD. Next, Bendon. There was one row and 10Fs and 12Es galore, but the only size 18 came in a C cup and there were no size 20s. Third, Postie. Nothing. Nada. Zip. Zilch. We couldn’t find any maternity bras at all. Finally, The Warehouse. There were about four different options for maternity bras and we did manage to find an 18DD for $15 so I bought it. It may not fit properly but at that point I was desperate for something at least close to my size. 

Now some of these stores may actually stock bigger sizes in their big city locations. If that’s the case by god do I wish there was more consistency across all locations! If not it would seem that most chain stores are under the impression that bigger people don’t get pregnant? Either way maternity shopping was not a pleasant or fruitful experience instead it was incredibly frustrating. My mother even looked at online specialty stores and they didn’t have much. We ended up finding a 20E from a specialty store on TradeMe (for those who don’t know that’s an auction website) and bought that so at least I have something in my actual size… 

What a bloody mission. 

Leave a Reply

